beneath the stream
5. Fear - with guest Robert Lloyd Parry

5. Fear - with guest Robert Lloyd Parry

September 9, 2018

The non-human world, in it’s many guises, can often be a place where we face our fears. Recorded in Cambridge at Mill Road Cemetery and the 12th century Leper Chapel of St Mary Magdalene, this episode features an interview with Robert Lloyd Parry, an outstanding performance storyteller, who specialises in classic literary ghost fiction, in particular the work of Montague Rhodes James.

We explore Fear: as a human adaptation; as a heightened sense; as a part of our experience in the wild; as something ‘unnatural’; or something we experience in solitude; and how we experience it in our sense of familiar and unfamiliar places. 

We would like to thank our wonderful guest Robert Lloyd Parry. To discover more about him visit  http://www.nunkie.co.uk

Some of the ideas and references we make in this podcast can be found here:

Arthur Machen https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arthur_Machen

The Cruel Mother https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Cruel_Mother

Malcolm Sinclair https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malcolm_Sinclair_(actor)

Julian Hoffman https://julian-hoffman.com/irreplaceable/

Ray Bradbury https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ray_Bradbury

Kenneth Grahame https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kenneth_Grahame

Robert Macfarlane https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robert_Macfarlane_(writer) 

M R James https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/M._R._James

A Warning to the Curious https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A_Warning_to_the_Curious 

Oh Whistle and I’ll Come to You My Lad https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/%27Oh,_Whistle,_and_I%27ll_Come_to_You,_My_Lad%27

Cambridge Leper Chapel https://www.cambridgeppf.org/Pages/Category/cambridge-leper-chapel

Canon Alberic’s Scrapbook https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Canon_Alberic%27s_Scrap-Book

1. Light

1. Light

September 4, 2018

The qualities of light, and how the natural, human and non-human world can be viewed and impacted by light is under discussion in this episode of the podcast. References you might wish to follow up include:

 

Watership Down, Hampshire, UK https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Watership_Down,_Hampshire

John Aitchison, cameramen and broadcaster http://johnaitchison.net

The Native American medicine wheel https://www.nlm.nih.gov/nativevoices/exhibition/healing-ways/medicine-ways/medicine-wheel.html

Songlines by Bruce Chatwin https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Songlines

Ladysmith Black Mambazo https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ladysmith_Black_Mambazo

Baja California, Mexico https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baja_California

Extremadura, Spain https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Extremadura

The Society of Wildlife Artists (SWLA) http://swla.co.uk

Darren Rees, artist http://www.darrenrees.com

Lars Jonsson, artist http://www.larsjonsson.se

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lars_Jonsson_(illustrator)

Barry Lopez, writer http://www.barrylopez.com